What are adjectives?

According to the Merriam Webster dictionary, an adjective is a word or phrase naming an attribute, added to or grammatically related to a noun to modify or describe it.

---

An adjective is a word that modifies, or describes, a noun. In "the shiny red apple," shiny and red describe the noun apple.