What does stereo mean?

Stereo (aka "stereophonic") is a type of audio reproduction involving 2 separate channels, left and right. The sound coming out of the left channel is typically slightly different than the right, and since we have two ears we can hear this. This can sound more realistic than one channel "monophonic"