Where do squirrels go in the winter time?

Ground squirrels use their handy paws to dig little caves in the ground to stay warm. But tree-dwelling squirrels, like the red squirrel or the very common eastern grey, make dens in the trunks of trees or build nests (also called "dreys") in branches out of twigs and leaves.