How long until the earth dies?

A very very very long time. Many years from now, the sun will get larger, gobbling up Mercury and Venus before it goes out. In 10 to the 25th power years, Earth will succumb to the sun's gravity and be pulled into it like Mercury and Venus. You don't need to worry about it - you won't be here.