What does it mean when a bearded dragon puffs up?

A bearded dragon will fluff its beard as a defensive warning or a threat sign. Obviously it makes the dragon seem bigger and more threatening so it could be seen as a sign of aggression. However, it is not unusual for a bearded dragon to stretch their beards from time to time without being provoked.