How is barbecue chips made?

There are several recipes on the web & food network on making BBQ chips. The typical ingredients are paprika, chili powder, garlic, cayenne pepper, sugar, salt & thinly sliced russet potatoes . They can then be roasted in the oven, fried in oil or an air fryer.