Was freddie mercury persian?

Freddy Mercury was born in Zanzibar, and originally named Farrokh Bulsara by his parents who were Parsi-Indian. The Parsis are descended from Persian Zoroastrians who emigrated to India to avoid religious persecution by Muslims.