Are emeralds real?

Emerald is a gemstone and a variety of the mineral beryl colored green by trace amounts of chromium and sometimes vanadium.

---

Yes. Emeralds are the mineral beryl. While green is the prominent color and dark green is preferred, they come in other colors. Chromium impurities give beryl the green color.