What kind of gun is an a. r. fifteen?

An AR-15 style rifle is any lightweight semi-automatic rifle based on the Colt AR-15 design. AR-15 has become the slang phase for semi-automatic rifles & assault rifles. However, the letters "A.R." actually stand for a specific rifle, called the "ArmaLite Rifle", manufactured by ArmaLite, Inc.