Tell me about the human tongue?

The tongue is a muscular organ in the mouth. The tongue is covered with moist, pink tissue called mucosa. Tiny bumps called papillae give the tongue its rough texture. ... The tongue is vital for chewing and swallowing food, as well as for speech.