How long ago did cavemen exist?

Cavemen are traditionally accepted as being from the Neanderthal species of archaic humans, which existed up until 40,000 years ago. Human-like fossils found in northern Spain, have been dated as far back as 430,000 years. Caves not only provided shelter, but also preserved their remains over time.