What does boca raton mean in english?

Boca Raton is Boca de Ratones in 1stEuropean maps. Boca=mouth in Spanish,a term for inlet. Ratones is uncertain. Some claim in old Spanish it referred to "rugged rocks where cables rub." 1 translation is rugged inlet. Still others say it referred to pirates,so translates to pirates' inlet. Wikipedia