What is rambling wreck?

In the late 19th century, Rambling Wreck, was used to refer to the makeshift motorized vehicles constructed by Georgia Tech engineers employed in projects in the jungles of South America. Workers began referring to these vehicles, and the men, who drove them as "Rambling Wrecks from Georgia Tech.