What is a selective androgen receptor modulator?

Selective Androgen Receptor Modulators (SARMs) are compounds that have similar anabolic properties to anabolic steroids, but with reduced androgenic properties (the ones that produce male characteristics). These drugs are still investigational so they are not yet safe to use.