Is cobra kai based on a true story?

Cobra Kai is an American martial arts comedy-drama television series and a sequel to the original The Karate Kid films by Robert Mark Kamen. The Karate Kid is a semi-autobiographical story based on the life of its screenwriter, Robert Mark Kamen.