What is a horcrux?

In the Harry Potter series, a Horcrux is an object formed by dark magic. It is created to contain fragments of the wizard’s soul in order to achieve immortality.

---

A Horcrux is an object formed by dark magic that is used by a wizard or witch in the Harry Potter series. Horcruxes are created to achieve immortality by splitting a dark wizard's soul into separate pieces.