What is root beer made?

root beer is traditionally made using the bark of the root of the sassafrass tree

---

One traditional recipe for making root beer involves cooking a syrup from molasses and water, letting the syrup cool for three hours, and combining it with the root ingredients (including sassafras root, sassafras bark, and wintergreen).