What is the definition of beer?

Beer is an alcoholic beverage brewed from cereal grains—most commonly from malted barley, though wheat, corn and rice are also used. During the brewing process, fermentation of the starch sugars in the wort produces ethanol and carbonation in the resulting beer. Most modern beer is brewed with hops.