What is the term cold turkey come from?

No one knows for sure, It may be that the original cold turkey was a combination of cold, then meaning straightforward or matter-of-fact and the earlier talk turkey, which dates back to the early 1800s and refers to speaking plainly, as in those times cold turkey meant give it to me straight.