How long does a queen ant live?

While some types of ants have multiple queens, most colonies only have one that lays hundreds of eggs annually. Protected and cared for by workers, these females rarely leave the nest. As a result, the lifespan of a queen ant can last anywhere from 2 to 20 years, depending on their species.