What is the mass of an object described in?

Mass is both a property of a physical body and a measure of its resistance to acceleration (a change in its state of motion) when a net force is applied. An object's mass also determines the strength of its gravitational attraction to other bodies.. The basic SI unit of mass is the kilogram (kg).