What keeps apples from browning?

One old trick to keep cut apples from turning brown is to brush them with a tiny bit of lemon juice. The citric acid alters the ph value of the outside of the fruit, inhibiting the oxidization reaction that results in browning. If you don't have lemon juice, lime juice or vinegar can also be used.