What is the song rocket man about?

The song describes a Mars-bound astronaut's mixed feelings at leaving his family in order to do his job.

---

At the height of America’s manned missions to the moon in 1971, Bernie Taupin and Elton John wrote the song about the imagined drudgery and loneliness of space travel.