What is golden hair?

The darker color in your hair is produced by the pigment known as melanin, which is produced by cells called melanocytes. ... If there's a slight imbalance of eumelanin and pheomelanin— in which there's more pheomelanin being produced— it could result in a golden color like you're describing.