How is styrofoam made?

Styrofoam is made out of styrene which is a petroleum-based product. How is styrofoam made? Through polymerization, styrene is refined into polystyrene and then a hydrofluorocarbon agent is added. This combination is then extruded and allowed to expand under pressure until it forms a foam board.