How long does a paragraph have to be?

A paragraph usually deals with a single idea. In general, you'll have an introductory sentence expressing that idea, and several supporting sentences to round it off. Paragraphs are usually about 100 – 200 words long, but there are more exceptions to this rule-of-thumb than you'd expect.