Are squirrels part of the rodent family?

Squirrels are members of a family that includes small or medium-size rodents

---

Squirrels are part of the family Sciuridae, in the suborder Sciuromorpha which is in the order Rodentia. The family Sciuridae includes small and medium sized rodents.