Are squirrels part of the rodent family?

Squirrels are part of the family Sciuridae, in the suborder Sciuromorpha which is in the order Rodentia. The family Sciuridae includes small and medium sized rodents.

---

Squirrels are members of a family that includes small or medium-size rodents