What is the ruthless aggression era?

The Ruthless Aggression Era class of 2002 created four of the biggest superstars ever in WWE — Brock Lesnar, John Cena, Batista, and Randy Orton. ... This caused the WWE to have a brand split, which made Raw and SmackDown have a competition within brands