How do you roast chestnuts on a fire?

Spread the chestnuts evenly, cover them, and place the pan in a bed of coals in the fire. Don't have a fireplace? You can achieve the same effect with your gas stove or barbecue. As the chestnuts roast, move them around in the fire's embers so they cook evenly and don't burn.