Does cream of tartar have dairy in it?

No. Cream of tartar is the sediment at the bottom of the wine barrel. It is processed, dried and made into cream of tartar. It is most often used as a leavening agent, and an ingredient in baking powder. It prevents sugar from crystallizing, making it a prime ingredient for candy makers