What's the difference between a book and a novel?

Books can be anything from poetry, to journals, or manuals written on a specific subject without a fixed count for the minimum amount of words. Novels contain a story or stories and nothing more, written in not less than forty thousand words. Therefore, novels can be called a subset of books.