Why did the u. s. get involved in world war one?

The main reason was public opinion: the sinking of the British ocean liner Lusitania by a German U-boat in 1915 (which killed 2000 people, including 128 Americans), and the Zimmerman telegram threatening an alliance between Germany and Mexico, forced the US to declare war against Germany.