What is the loudest whale in the world?

The blue whale is not the loudest animal on Earth, despite what you may have learned in school. While its calls are claimed to be louder than a jet engine at take-off, clocking in at an impressive 188 decibels the sperm whale is actually louder: its communicative clicks have been measured at 230 dB.