Why do people eat their placenta?

Some claim eating the placenta improves mood and prevents postpartum depression and increases breast milk productivity, but there is no scientific evidence to support these claims.

---

They believe that after childbirth it can raise energy, increase the breast milk production, and lower hormone levels. However none of this has ever been proven. Animals eat their placenta for different proven reasons. In dogs, for example it can ease labor pains.