What is kentucky's state musical instrument?

The Appalachian dulcimer was designated as the official state musical Instrument of Kentucky in 2001. Eastern Kentucky lies in the heart of the region known as Appalachia.

---

The Appalachian dulcimer, was designated as the official state musical Instrument of Kentucky in 2001. The word Dulcimer, which was familiar from the King James Version of the Bible, was used to refer to a three or four stringed, fretted instrument, generally played on the lap by strumming.