How fast can a volcano erupt?

ACCORDING TO SCHOLASTIC.COM, There are many different speeds to measure or estimate with erupting volcanoes. When volcanoes erupt explosively, they throw rocks at velocities of 200-300 m/sec. After the initial eruption, the volcanoes may release a lava flow which usually goes slowly — a few m/hour.