Why do you have to wash rice?

The main reason to rinse is to remove surface starch from rice grains, which makes them gummy as they cook. Soaking allows rice to absorb water, giving it a leg up on cooking. This helps it to have a better, more even texture, instead of drying out while the inside is not evenly steamed and fluffed.

---

You don't have to wash it, but if you do it rinses away the starchy outside so that it is less sticky when cooked. This is good for long grained rice. Never rinse arborio rice used for risotto before cooking. It is what makes it creamy.