How long does it take to defrost a twelve pound turkey?

The USDA recommends thawing your turkey in the refrigerator. This is the safest method because the turkey will thaw at a consistent, safe temperature. This method takes some time, so allow one day for each 4 - 5 pounds of weight. If your turkey weighs 12 pounds, it will take about 3 days to thaw.