What was the gallipoli campaign?

The Gallipoli campaign was a military campaign in the World War 1 that took place on the Gallipoli peninsula, from February 1915 to January 1916. The Entente powers, Britain, France and Russia, sought to weaken the Ottoman Empire, one of the Central Powers, by taking control of the Turkish straits