Why do they call old people blue hairs?

From the 1930s through to about the mid-1970s, a blue rinse, a dilute hair dye, promised to turn gray or white hair, which can often adopt an undesirable yellow hue, into something more attractive. It’s meant to ridicule older people for their out-of-date values as well as their cosmetic choices.