What makes broccoli green?

Broccoli, like other green vegetables, gets greener when you start cooking it. ... Green vegetables get their color from chlorophyll, a pigment in the chloroplasts of plant cells. Usually, gases in the gaps between plant cells slightly cloud chlorophyll's green color.