Why are monkey bars called monkey bars?

The term "monkey bars" appears at least as far back as the 1930s the initial 1920 patent appeals to the "monkey instinct" in claiming the benefits of climbing as exercise and play for children, and improvement patents later that year refer to monkeys shaking the bars of a cage