Does joaquin phoenix have a cleft palate?

The scar is actually a microform cleft (the mildest form of a cleft lip), though in Joaquin’s mind, it was the result of an “act of God.” “While pregnant with me, my mother felt a sharp pain one day, and I was born with a mark on my lip,” he once said of the scar.