Who was general montgomery?

General, later Field Marshal Bernard Montgomery, nicknamed "Monty", was a senior British Army officer in both World Wars. He commanded all British troops in Africa up to 1943 as well as during the Battle of the Bulge. He later became Chief of the Imperial Staff as well as NATO's Deputy Commander.