How was halloween invented?

The Celts invented rituals to protect themselves during this turbulent time. They put on costumes and disguises to fool the spirits. They lit bonfires and stuck candles inside carved turnips — the first jack-o'-lanterns — to scare away any spirits looking for mischief.