What's the difference between a truffle and a mushroom?

Mushrooms can be found growing above ground, whilst truffles always grow underground attached to tree roots. You'll find your average mushroom all year round in any season, whilst truffles have very short seasons and are very difficult to cultivate on farms. Truffles grow underground