How does a queen bee lay drone eggs?

When a mated queen lays eggs, those eggs that are not fertilized with semen stored in her body will become drones (or male bees). Fertilized eggs become workers (or new queens). An unmated queen that starts laying will produce only drones because she has no semen with which to fertilize her eggs.