Who is number eight on the boston red sox?

Carl Yastrzemski wore the number 8 during his career with the Boston Red Sox. Known as “Yaz” throughout baseball, Yastrzemski retired in 1983. The Red Sox later retired his number 8 in 1989. Because 8 is retired, no other player in the organization can wear that number.