What does it take to be an anesthesiologist?

Becoming an anesthesiologist requires completion of a bachelor's degree and a minimum of eight years postgraduate work.

---

Most paths to becoming an anesthesiologist take around 12 years to complete. This includes four years of an undergraduate program, four years of medical school, and four years in a residency.