What is ashura?

Ashura is a day of commemoration in Islam. It occurs annually on the 10th of Muharram, the first month of the Islamic calendar.

---

For Muslims of the Sunni faith, Ashura is the day when Prophet Moses fasted as a celebration for the freedom of Israelites. The Shia Muslim community observes the day mostly in mourning.